Department of Government

2017 Skytte Prize award


Amartya Sen awarded the 2017 Johan Skytte Prize in Political Science

Amartya Sen awarded the 2017 Johan Skytte Prize in Political Science

The Johan Skytte Prize annually recognizes the most valuable contribution to the field of Political Science. This year’s prize is awarded to Professor Amartya Sen, Thomas W. Lamont Professor at Harvard University.

The Johan Skytte Prize is awarded for the 23rd year by the Johan Skytte Foundation at Uppsala University in a ceremony which will take place in Uppsala on September 30, 2017.

Amartya Sen receives the prize for his many-sided scholarship “combining insights on the vulnerabilities of humankind with knowledge on the unique capacities of democratic political power to mitigate and diminish this exposure”. Sen is of Indian origin, since decades working at the University of Cambridge, Harvard University and affiliated with Delhi University. In 1998, Sen was awarded the Nobel Memorial Prize in Economic Sciences and he has used the award to start the Pratichi Trust in India and Bangladesh that works to improve women’s access to education and health care.

About the Johan Skytte Prize:

In 1622, Johan Skytte, then Vice-Chancellor of the University, established the Johan Skytte chair in Eloquence and Government, which is probably the world’s oldest active professorship in political science. The lands included in the original donation continue to finance research and the Johan Skytte Prize. The prize is awarded each year by The Skytte Foundation at Uppsala University to the person who has made the “most valuable contribution to political science”.

Read more about the prize here:

For more information, please contact: Michal Smrek, Information officer at the Skytte Foundation, tel: +46-700664926 e-mail

Aktuellt vid institutionen